London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Burroughs Common War Memorial Barnet

Summary

Hendon War Memorial was unveiled on 23 April 1922 and was originally located near St Joseph's Convent. In 1923 Watford Way was built and Hendon Central station opened, as the area was increasingly developed. The War Memorial was moved to its current location in 1962 when the road was widened. It now stands within a landscaped area that is effectively a traffic island on Watford Way near the junction with The Burroughs. The Memorial is set within cruciform paving with lawn either side.

Basic Details

Previous / Other name:
Hendon War Memorial

Site location:
Watford Way/The Burroughs, Hendon

Postcode:
NW4 ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Gardens

Date(s):
mid C20th

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Barnet

Site ownership:
LB Barnet

Site management:
Leisure and Youth Services, Green Spaces Division

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
unrestricted

Special conditions:

Facilities:

Events:

Public transport:
Tube: Hendon Central (Northern).

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/05/2009
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.barnet.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ226889 (522688,188913)

Size in hectares:
0.75

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Conservation Area name:
abuts The Burroughs Hendon CA

Tree Preservation Order:
Not known

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
Yes - Area of Special Archaeological Significance

Other LA designation:
None

Burroughs Common War Memorial

Burroughs Common War Memorial, July 2000. Photo S Williams

Click photo to enlarge.

Fuller information

Hendon War Memorial was unveiled on 23 April, St George's Day, 1922 but now commemorates the dead of two world wars. It was originally located near St Joseph's Convent, which had been established in 1882 in Burroughs House. The Burroughs was originally spelt 'the Burrows', so-called after rabbit warrens here, and the present spelling dates from the late C19th. The War Memorial was moved to its current location in 1962 when the road was widened. It now stands on a landscaped area that is effectively a traffic island on Watford Way near the junction with The Burroughs. Watford Bypass was built through Hendon in the 1920s around the time that development in central Hendon was accelerating after the railway arrived in 1923, Hendon Central Station opening that year. The War Memorial is set within cruciform paving with lawn either side and planting includes a number of exotic evergreen trees together with shrubs.

Sources consulted:

Barnet Achives, Pocket histories: Hendon NW4 Hendon Central

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.