London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Christ Church Barnet Barnet
   

Christ Church Barnet

Christ Church Barnet, August 2000. Photo S Williams

> Enlarge picture
Christ Church was built in 1845, a flint and stone building with two large gables facing the road and a picturesque wooden bell-turret. The Pennefather Hall next to the church dates from 1907 and is named after the first vicar. The churchyard is no longer used for burials and the church is now surrounded by garden, with grass, shrubberies and a number of trees including a Cedar, with a War Memorial obelisk to one side commemorating 'Old Scholars of the Boys School Christ Church Barnet who died in the South African Campaign of 1899-1902'.
Pennefather Hall next to Christ Church Barnet, August 2000. Photo S Williams
> Enlarge
Memorial in churchyard, Christ Church Barnet, August 2000. Photo S Williams
> Enlarge
Previous / Other name:
Site location: St Albans Road, High Barnet
Postcode: EN5 4LA > Google Map
Type of site: Churchyard
Date(s): 1845-52
Designer(s):
Listed structures: LBII: Christ Church
Borough: Barnet
Site ownership: Church: Diocese of London
Site management: LB Barnet, Leisure and Youth Services, Green Spaces Division
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: Tube: High Barnet (Northern) then bus. Bus 34, 383, 399.
Pennefather Hall next to Christ Church Barnet, August 2000. Photo S Williams
> Enlarge
Memorial in churchyard, Christ Church Barnet, August 2000. Photo S Williams
> Enlarge
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/08/2000
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.christchurch-barnet.co.uk

Fuller information:

Christ Church was built in 1845 as a daughter church of St Giles South Mimms as the population in the area was increasing. It became a parish church in 1853. The church was designed by Sir Gilbert Scott of Scott and Moffatt, a flint and stone building with two large gables facing the road and a picturesque wooden bell-turret. The first vicar was Revd William Pennefather, after whom the Pennefather Hall next to the church is named. The Hall dates from 1907, a 'fancy Tudor style' (Pevsner) edifice in brick, stone and with a flint and stone chequered pattern in part. The church is surrounded by garden, with grass, shrubberies and a number of trees including a Cedar, with a War Memorial obelisk to one side, commemorating 'Old Scholars of the Boys School Christ Church Barnet' who died in the South African Campaign of 1899-1902. It was erected in July 1903 by their 'Old School-fellows and Friends'. Hedging separates the church garden from the road.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry & Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England: London 4: North' (Penguin 1998)
Grid ref: TQ243970
Size in hectares:
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back