London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

St Martha's Senior School Barnet
   
Summary: Mount House was built in the C18th on rising land enclosed from Enfield Chase, a red brick house in its own grounds with a stable range to the west. In 1947 the Sisters of St Martha moved the senior wing of their school here from Wood Street, and additional buildings were added in the 1960s. Although little of the original grounds survive, there is a large circular pond in front of the house, partly surrounded by shrubs, with a statue of the Madonna on the south edge of the pond. Elsewhere are garden areas with lawns, paths, seating areas, some remains of old brick wall and mature trees. An elaborate gate retains the name 'Mount House' carved in the wood.
Previous / Other name: The Mount House; St Martha's Roman Catholic Convent School
Site location: Camlet Way, Monken Hadley
Postcode: EN4 0NJ > Google Map
Type of site: Institutional Grounds
Date(s): C18th
Designer(s):
Listed structures: LBII*: Mount House
Borough: Barnet
Site ownership: The Congregation of St Martha's
Site management: St Martha's Senior School
Open to public? No
Opening times: private (casual visitors not welcome)
Special conditions:
Facilities: The Mount House may be hired for functions (contact Events Team: 020 8449 6889)
Events:
Public transport: Tube: High Barnet (Northern) then bus/walk. Bus: 84 then walk.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2007
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. http://st-marthas.co.uk

Fuller information:

Roque's map of 1754 shows Mount House with a circular ornamental pond on the south side. It was built in the C18th on rising land enclosed from Enfield Chase, a fine red brick house in its own grounds with a stable range with domed clock turret to the west. For many years it was the home of the Dove family, who were well known church builders. It remained within Enfield until 1882. It abuts Monken Hadley Common (q.v.), which remains public open space. In 1947 the Sisters of St Martha moved the senior wing of their school here from Wood Street, and additional buildings were added for the school in the 1960s. In Dury Road the school has another red-brick Georgian house. Although little of the original grounds of The Mount House survives, there is a large circular pond in front of the house, partly surrounded by shrubs. A statue of the Madonna stands in a gap in the shrubbery in the south edge of the pond, facing the main entrance of the house. Elsewhere are garden areas with lawns, paths, seating areas, some remains of old brick wall and mature trees. An elaborate wooden side gate to the school retains the name 'Mount House' carved in the wood.

Sources consulted:

Pamela Taylor and Joanna Cordern, 'Barnet, Edgware, Hadley and Totteridge, A Pictorial History', 1994; Bridget Cherry & Nikolaus Pevsner, The Buildings of England: London 4: North (Penguin, 1998) p186/7
Grid ref: TQ251975
Size in hectares:
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: Yes
Conservation Area name: Monken Hadley
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: Yes
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation: Article 4 Direction
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back