London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

St Michael and All Angels, Mill Hill Barnet

Summary

St Michaels and All Angels was built when the Mill Hill Broadway area was being developed around the new station. The east part was completed by 1922 and extended in 1932 and 1938 with the west end and Lady Chapel by Alban Caroe not completed until 1956. The church hall to the north, Hartley Hall, was built in 1910. It has pleasant gardens in front of the church, also an area of lawn to the side.

Basic Details

Site location:
Flower Lane, Mill Hill

Postcode:
NW7 2JA ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Churchyard

Date(s):
1920-56

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Barnet

Site ownership:
Diocese of London

Site management:
Church

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
unrestricted

Special conditions:

Facilities:

Events:

Public transport:
Rail: Mill Hill Broadway. Bus: 221

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/09/2000
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ215921 (521641,192135)

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
Not known

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
None

St Michael and All Angels, Mill Hill

St Michael and All Angels, September 2000. Photo: S Williams

Click photo to enlarge.

Fuller information

St Michaels and All Angels was built when the Mill Hill Broadway area was being developed around the new station, and was designed by Herbert Passmore in Gothic style. The east part was completed by 1922 and extended in 1932 and 1938 with the west end and Lady Chapel by Alban Caroe not completed until 1956. The church hall to the north, Hartley Hall, was built in 1910. It has pleasant gardens in front of the church, also an area of lawn to the side. Ornamental gateway, with overthrow and lamps each side with inscription in gold lettering 'in remembrance of J B W and G B W, August 1935'.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry and Nikolaus Pevsner,'The Buildings of England: London 4: North (1998) p. 116.

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.