Franks Park was established after the land was purchased by Erith Council in 1920. It is named after Frank Beadle, a local philanthropist, who donated money for its purchase. It comprises an area of woodland that was formerly part of the estate of Belvedere Park, which stood near Upper Park Road, the house used as the Royal Alfred Merchant Seaman's Institution between 1865-1959 .
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/04/2002
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.bexley.gov.uk
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
An area of woodland, formerly part of the estate of Belvedere Park, which stood near Upper Park Road; the early C18th house was used between 1865-1959 as the Royal Alfred Merchant Seaman's Institution. Franks Park was established after purchase of the land by Erith Council in 1920, and named after Frank Beadle, local philanthropist, who donated money for its purchase. The woods are predominantly Oak, but with Lebanon Cedars, and notable Lime and lilac beside Foxhouse Road. The adjacent recreation ground has several mature standard oaks and horse chestnuts, and holm oaks, one on a mound. A sunken concrete bowl on top of the hill to the north is a remnant garden feature belonging to Temple Mount, a mid C19th house demolished after WWII.
Darrell Spurgeon, 'Discover Crayford and Erith', Greenwich Guide Book, 1995