London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Joydens Wood Bexley
   
Summary: Although much of the wood has been planted in recent years there is a record of woodland here in Tudor times and also mention is made of tile kilns when it was part of the Manor of Baldwyns in the C16th. On a map of Kent of 1769 it is named Jordan’s Wood and was part of the Mount Mascal estate, but by 1805 the spelling had become Joydens Wood. In 1884 parts of the wood were sold off, some of it later developed for housing in the 1930s. In 1956 the Forestry Commission took over what was then known as the Big Wood, cleared much of the stunted oaks and other native trees in order to plant compartments of cash crop trees.
Bracken Path, Joydens Wood, postcard c.1907. Courtesy Bexley Local Studies & Archive Centre
> Enlarge
Dane Walk, Joydens Wood, postcard 1908. Courtesy Bexley Local Studies & Archive Centre
> Enlarge
Joydens Wood, photograph c.1910. Courtesy Bexley Local Studies & Archive Centre
> Enlarge
Winter Work, Joydens Wood, photograph c.1910. Courtesy Bexley Local Studies & Archive Centre
> Enlarge
Previous / Other name: Jordans Wood
Site location: Birchwood Road/ Parsonage Lane
Postcode: DA14 > Google Map
Type of site: Public Open Land
Date(s): C16th
Designer(s):
Listed structures: SAM: Faesten Dic
Borough: Bexley
Site ownership: LB Bexley/Forestry Commission
Site management: LB Bexley/Forestry Commission
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: Rail: Bexley then bus.
Bracken Path, Joydens Wood, postcard c.1907. Courtesy Bexley Local Studies & Archive Centre
> Enlarge
Dane Walk, Joydens Wood, postcard 1908. Courtesy Bexley Local Studies & Archive Centre
> Enlarge
Joydens Wood, photograph c.1910. Courtesy Bexley Local Studies & Archive Centre
> Enlarge
Winter Work, Joydens Wood, photograph c.1910. Courtesy Bexley Local Studies & Archive Centre
> Enlarge
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/06/2010
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.woodlandtrust.org.uk

Fuller information:

A major part of Joydens Wood is in Dartford. It is ancient woodland that has existed since at least 1600 and there are many indicator plants which confirm this. It was part of the Manor of Baldwyns in the C16th. On the Andrews, Drury and Herberts Map of Kent dated 1769 the woodland is named Jordan’s Wood and was part of the Mount Mascal estate. By 1805 on the first 1 inch Ordnance Survey map, the spelling had become Joydens Wood. In 1884 parts of the wood were sold off, some of it used for housing development in the 1930s. In 1956 the Forestry Commission took over what was then known as the Big Wood. The Commission cleared much of the stunted oaks and other native trees in order to plant compartments of cash crop trees. There are marked paths and bridleways throughout the wood.

Sources consulted:

Grid ref: TQ501717
Size in hectares: 134.82 (in Bexley & Dartford)
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: Yes - Metropolitan Importance
Green Belt: Yes
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back