London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Bertie Almshouses Garden Bromley

Summary

Bertie Almshouses were built in 1890 in Arts and Crafts style, at the behest of Mrs Mary Elizabeth Akers of Malling Abbey in memory of her husband Bertie Peter Cator. The small sheltered garden has mature trees, shrubs and back garden now divided in two. A plaque in the porch has the inscription 'AD VSVM PAVPERVM DEI IN MEMORIAM BERTII ET DIANAE MDCCCXC'.

Basic Details

Previous / Other name:
Cator Almshouses

Site location:
31, 31A, 33 Bromley Road, Beckenham

Postcode:
BR3 5NT ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Private Garden

Date(s):
1890

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
Local list: Almshouses

Borough:
Bromley

Site ownership:
Beckenham Parochial Charities

Site management:
Beckenham Parochial Charities

Open to public?
No

Opening times:
private

Special conditions:

Facilities:

Events:

Public transport:
Rail: Beckenham Junction. Bus: 227, 367

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/01/2006
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ380694

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
No

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
None

Fuller information

Bertie Almshouses were built in 1890 in Arts and Crafts style, possibly designed by J D Sedding, who exhibited a drawing 'Almshouses Beckenham' at the Royal Academy in 1891, and who lived in West Wickham for a few years. They were built at the behest of Mrs Mary Elizabeth Akers of Malling Abbey in memory of her husband Bertie Peter Cator (c.1836-1875), whose family were prominent Beckenham gentry, Cator was the seventh son of Joseph and Diana Bertie of Clock House. A plaque in the porch has the inscription 'AD VSVM PAVPERVM DEI IN MEMORIAM BERTII ET DIANAE MDCCCXC'. The almshouses were originally owned by her estate and then taken over by London Borough of Bromley, and finally, after reconstruction, by the Beckenham Parochial Charities. They were originally two houses, but were converted horizontally into three flats with 2 downstairs and 1 upstairs. The small sheltered garden has mature trees including ash, holly, small cypressas, prunus cerasifera 'nigra' in the front, shrubs in front and back gardens and 2 box-cut privet hedges and a box hedge in front. The back garden is divided by a wooden fence into two for the downstairs flats. A commemorative bench was placed between the two front doors in the porch in 1982.

Sources consulted:

John Wagstaff & Doris Pullen 'Beckenham: an anthology of Local History' (nd), p21; H R Copeland, 'Village of Old Beckenham' 9nd), p57; Minutes of Beckenham Parochial Charity 1980-2003.

LPGT Volunteer Research by Kristina Taylor, 2006

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.