London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Hayesford Park Bromley

Summary

Landscaping and communal lawns to Hayesford Park, a modernist housing development built in the 1960s, with echoes of Garden City and Garden Suburb ideals. The first phase was built in 1960-63, laid out with generous planting. A good example is the hidden square between the larger flats of Fairacre, which were built in the last phase of the development in 1965; the central garden has mature trees and an ornamental pond at one end.

Basic Details

Site location:
Letchworth Drive/Mead Way, Bromley

Postcode:
BR2 9BL (Fairacre garden) ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Housing/Estate Landscaping

Date(s):
1960s

Designer(s):
Building Design Partnership

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Bromley

Site ownership:
LB Bromley? - to check ownership, management company?

Site management:
Leisure Services

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
unrestricted

Special conditions:

Facilities:

Events:

Public transport:
Rail: Bromley South. Bus: 119, 146.

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/12/2006
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.bromley.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ403675 (Fairacre garden)

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
No

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
None

Fuller information

The northern part of Hayes was not developed until the 1940s, following the earlier development of the land to the south, which took place from the mid-1920s. Hayes remained rural until then, despite the arrival of the railway in the 1880s, development beginning in earnest after estates such as that owned by the Norman family began to be broken up and sold for building. The death of Sir Everard Hambro of Hayes Place in 1925 led to the sale of the estate land by his son, although the house remained until 1933.

Sources consulted:

B Cherry & N Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England, London 2: South', (1983 reprinted 1999) p173; EH "London Suburbs", p22.

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.