London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Chalcot Gardens Camden
   

Chalcot Gardens

Chalcot Gardens, August 2002. Photo: S Williams

> Enlarge picture
Between Chalcot Gardens and Englands Lane is a narrow strip of shrubbery forming the common frontage of the houses of Chalcot Gardens, built in the 1880s and named after a farm which existed as Chaldecote Farm by 1253. By the C17th there was an Upper and a Lower Chalcots Farm, the latter later giving its name to Chalk Farm. An C18th owner of Upper Chalcot Farm, James England, gave his name to the road although it had existed for many years past as a path to the farm.
Previous / Other name:
Site location: England's Lane/Chalcot Gardens
Postcode: NW3 > Google Map
Type of site: Housing/Estate Landscaping
Date(s): 1880s
Designer(s):
Listed structures: LBII: No. 16 Chalcot Gardens
Borough: Camden
Site ownership: private
Site management:
Open to public? No
Opening times: private, but visible from Englands Lane
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: Tube: Belsize Park, Chalk Farm (Northern). Bus: 24, 46, 168 (walk)
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/04/2002
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.

Fuller information:

Between Chalcot Gardens and Englands Lane is a narrow strip of shrubbery forming the common frontage of the houses of Chalcot Gardens, built in the 1880s and named after a farm that existed as Chaldecote Farm by 1253. By the C17th there was an Upper and a Lower Chalcots Farm, the latter later giving its name to Chalk Farm. An C18th owner of Upper Chalcot Farm, James England, gave his name to the road although it had existed for many years past as a path to the farm. The shrubbery and line of trees are behind a low brick wall onto Englands Lane, some of which is original with brick/stone gate piers remaining and in the centre a stone plaque inscribed 'Chalcot Gardens'. The wall originally had railings. The land had been owned by The Provost and College of Eton and building on the shrubbery was prohibited under the London Squares and Enclosures (Preservation) Act of 1906. The area attracted artists and No. 16 Chalcot Gardens was probably built as a studio in the grounds of No.39 Englands Lane with extensions added c.1898 by C F A Voysey for the artist AJ Whalley, The illustrator Arthur Rackham lived here between 1903-20.

Sources consulted:

Camden Listed Buildings website; Christopher Wade ed., 'The Streets of Belsize', Camden History Society Street History Group, 1991
Grid ref: TQ276846
Size in hectares: 0.0788
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
Yes
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: Yes
Conservation Area name: Eton
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: Not known
Other LA designation: Private Open Space. London Squares Preservation Act of 1931
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back