London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Chalcot Square Gardens Camden

Summary

Chalcot Square, called St George's Square until 1937, was laid out between 1849-60 around a central garden enclosure. The name Chalcot recalls a farm of that name in the area from the C13th. The central garden was owned and maintained by the Trustees of the Broder Estate for the benefit of tenants of the square. It is now publicly accessible. Little changed since the original layout, the square today has children's play equipment in one corner.

Basic Details

Previous / Other name:
St George's Square

Site location:
Chalcot Square

Postcode:
NW1 ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Garden Square; Public Gardens

Date(s):
1855-60

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
LBII: Nos. 1-11, 12, 13, 14, 15-19, 20-28, 29-33, 33A Chalcot Square & attached railings

Borough:
Camden

Site ownership:
LB Camden

Site management:
Parks & Open Spaces

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
7.30am - dusk

Special conditions:

Facilities:
playground

Events:

Public transport:
London Overground: Camden Road. Tube: Chalk Farm (Northern). Bus: 274 (walk)

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/07/2009
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.camden.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ280840

Size in hectares:
0.1713

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
Yes

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
Yes

Conservation Area name:
Primrose Hill

Tree Preservation Order:
Not known

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:

Other LA designation:
Public Open Space (Small Local)

Chalcot Square Gardens

Chalcot Square Gardens, August 2002. Photo: S Williams

Click photo to enlarge.

Fuller information

Chalcot Square, called St George's Square until 1937 when the London County Council altered street names where they were duplicated elsewhere, was laid out from mid-C19th, with Nos 8-11 built in 1849 and the west terrace in 1855-60. Chalcot recalls a farm of that name in the area from the C13th. The central garden was owned and maintained by the Trustees of the Broder Estate who employed a gardener to keep it in good order for the benefit of tenants of the square. In 1928 it was described as 'an enclosure, almost square in shape, surrounded by a sparse hedge. Maintained as a grass plot, with some well-grown trees'. It is now publicly accessible, a rectangular area enclosed by C19th railings with grass and a few trees, including acacia, which were popular in the 1850s. Little changed since the original layout, the square today has children's play equipment in one corner, and the central circular area with hedges encloses bench seats.

Sources consulted:

Peter Woodford ed. 'From Primrose Hill to Euston Road', Camden History Society, 1995; Report of the Royal Commission on London Squares, 1928

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.