This area suffered bomb damage during WWII and as a result the former townscape of Fitzrovia changed in post-war rebuilding. Crabtree Fields was laid out in 1985 by the GLC replacing a former car park on an empty bomb-site. The public gardens recall the old name of the area in the early C18th when it was a meadow known as Crab Tree Field. It was owned by the wife of carpenter John Goodge after whom Goodge Street is named.
- Site location:
- Whitfield Street/Colville Place
( Google Map)
- Type of site:
- Public Gardens
- Listed structures:
- LBII: Nos. 11, 11a, 12, 13 Colville Place (north side), 14, 15, 16 Colville Place (south side)
- Site ownership:
- LB Camden
- Site management:
- Parks & Open Spaces; Friends of the Parks of Fitzrovia
- Open to public?
- Opening times:
- Special conditions:
- Children's playground
- Public transport:
- Tube: Goodge Street (Northern). Bus: 10, 24, 29, 73, 134.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/06/2012
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.
- Grid ref:
- Size in hectares:
- Green Flag:
- On EH National Register :
- EH grade:
- Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
- Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
- Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
Local Authority Data
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
- On Local List:
- In Conservation Area:
- Conservation Area name:
- Charlotte Street
- Tree Preservation Order:
- Nature Conservation Area:
- Green Belt:
- Metropolitan Open Land:
- Special Policy Area:
- Yes - Area of Special Character: Central London Area
- Other LA designation:
- Public Open Space (Small Local). Strategic View Corridor
Crabtree Fields, Pergola, April 2000. Photo: S Williams
Click photo to enlarge.
Colville Place adjacent is a terrace of houses built c.1766 by John Colville. No 1 was built in 1964 by Max and Jolanta Neufeld as a house with gallery below.
Metro, 16 February 2000; Charlotte Street Conservation Area Character Appraisal and Management Plan, Nathanial Lichfield & Partners, 2008
Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.