London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Holly Bush Hill, Green and Shrubbery Camden
   

Holly Bush Hill, Green and Shrubbery

Holly Bush Hill, The Green with Romney's House, August 2002. Photo: S Williams

> Enlarge picture
Holly Bush Hill has two small areas of green space that since the late C19th/early C20th have been maintained by Hampstead Borough Council, now by LB Camden, a narrow strip of land on Holly Bush Hill was laid out as a shrubbery and a small triangular green bounded by post and chain. A number of fine houses face Holly Bush Hill, including Romney's House named after artist George Romney. This was later converted for Assembly Rooms where the first Hampstead Heath Protection meeting took place in 1829, chaired by James Fenton who lived nearby at Fenton House.
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Holly Bush Hill
Postcode: NW3 6SH > Google Map
Type of site: Public Open Land
Date(s): C18th/C19th
Designer(s):
Listed structures: LBI: Romney's House. LBII: Alpine Cottage, 1 Holly Bush Hill, Nos 2 & 3 Holly Bush Hill and attached railings, No 4 Holly Bush Hill and attached railings, Garden Wall to Romney's House
Borough: Camden
Site ownership: LB Camden
Site management: Parks & Open Spaces
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: Tube: Hampstead (Northern)
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/08/2002
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.camden.gov.uk

Fuller information:

Holly Bush Hill has two small areas of green space that since the late C19th/early C20th have been maintained by Hampstead Borough Council, now by LB Camden, a narrow strip of land laid out as a shrubbery, and a small area of grass with some small trees with low post and chain boundary. A number of fine houses dating from the mid to late C18th face Holly Bush Hill, including Romney's House that overlooks the Green. The white weather-boarded house is named after artist George Romney who purchased former stables of The Mount in 1796, planning to convert them into a house, studio and Palace of Art. The property was later enlarged in 1807 for Assembly Rooms and here the first Hampstead Heath Protection meeting took place in 1829 chaired by James Fenton of Fenton House (q.v.) whose entrance gates faces onto the Green. The Assembly Rooms were the venue for lectures in 1833 by Michael Faraday, John Constable and Elizabeth Fry. In c.1900 Holly Bush Hill was under threat for road widening in connection with railway works but local opposition prevented this.

Sources consulted:

Report of Royal Commission on London Squares, 1928; Christopher Wade, 'The Streets of Hampstead' (Camden History Society, 2000)
Grid ref: TQ263859
Size in hectares: 0.0164
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
Yes
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: Yes
Conservation Area name: Hampstead Village
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: Yes - Area of Special Character: Hampstead & Highgate Ridge
Other LA designation: Public Open Space (Small Local).
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back