London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Gresham City of London
   

Gresham

Gresham, Site of St Thomas the Apostle Church, November 2002. Photo: S Williams

> Enlarge picture
The raised forecourt of Nos. 27 and 28 Queen Street, a pair of fine C18th private houses now used by Gresham Computing Personnel, is on part of the site of the former burial ground of the church of St Thomas-the-Apostle. The church was first recorded in 1170, rebuilt in 1371 but destroyed in the Great Fire of 1666 and not rebuilt. The churchyard remained until 1851 when Queen Street was widened and remains were interred in a vault on the east side. The paved forecourt, accessed by a flight of steps each side, has a large plane tree and shrubbery; a stone plaque relating to the site is set into the front wall.
Gresham, Site of St Thomas the Apostle Church, November 2002. Photo: S Williams
> Enlarge
Previous / Other name: St Thomas Apostle Church
Site location: 27 & 28 Queen Street/Great St Thomas Apostle Street
Postcode: EC4R 1BB > Google Map
Type of site: Private Garden
Date(s):
Designer(s):
Listed structures: LBII*: Nos. 27 and 28 Queen Street
Borough: City of London
Site ownership: Gresham Computer Personnel
Site management: Gresham Computer Personnel
Open to public? No
Opening times: private, but visible
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: Tube: Mansion House (Circle, District)
Gresham, Site of St Thomas the Apostle Church, November 2002. Photo: S Williams
> Enlarge
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2002
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.gresham-cp.com

Fuller information:

The raised forecourt of Nos. 27 and 28 Queen Street, a pair of fine C18th private houses now used by Gresham College, is on part of the site of the former burial ground of the church of St Thomas the Apostle. St Thomas-the-Apostle was first recorded in 1170, rebuilt in 1371. It was destroyed and not rebuilt in the Great Fire of 1666 and the parish united with that of St Mary Aldermary (q.v.). The churchyard remained until 1851 when Queen Street was widened and remains were interred in a vault on the east side, and there is still a detached burial ground. The forecourt, accessed by a flight of steps each side, is paved with one large plane tree and shrubbery with a stone plaque relating to the site with the names of two church wardens dated 1814 set into the front wall.

Sources consulted:

Simon Bradley & Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England, London 1: The City of London', 1997 (1999 ed.; London Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches data
Grid ref: TQ324809
Size in hectares:
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: Yes
Conservation Area name: Queen Street
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation: Strategic Viewing Corridor
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back