London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Addington Palace (Addington Palace/Addington Golf Courses, Addington Park) * Croydon
   
Summary: * on The National Heritage List for England, Parks & Gardens

In the C18th the estate was owned by the Archbishops of Canterbury for their country residence. Addington Palace was built in 1768, with the surrounding parkland laid out by Lancelot Brown c.1781. The site today has 3 different uses, the largest part a private golf course laid out in the early C19th, and the Palace and pleasure gardens are in private use. The land to the south of the golf course was acquired in 1930 for a public park, Addington Park, and contains the C19th South Lodge to Addington Palace. The tennis courts in the south-west corner were provided after WWII.
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Kent Gateway/Addington Village Road/Gravel Hill, Croydon
Postcode: CR0 5BB > Google Map
Type of site: Public Park; Private Open Land
Date(s): C18 onwards
Designer(s): Lancelot Brown c1781
Listed structures: LBII*: Addington Palace; gatepiers on Spout Hill
Borough: Croydon
Site ownership: LB Croydon
Site management: Parks and Open Spaces
Open to public? Partially
Opening times: Access to public park/ occasional open days to Palace ground. Members only to Golf Course
Special conditions:
Facilities: Children’s playground, Car Park (Off Kent Gate Way); Football pitches; tennis courts, changing rooms
Events: Palace open days advertised locally
Public transport: Bus (130) and Tram link from Croydon
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/05/2006
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.croydon.gov.uk

Fuller information:

Site on The National Heritage List for England, Parks & Gardens, for Register Entry see https://www.historicengland.org.uk/listing/the-list

Originally one estate owned in the C18 by the Archbishops of Canterbury as their country residence. Lancelot Brown laid out the surrounding parkland in 1781. Now owned by the London Borough of Croydon the site is used for three different functions. The largest part is a private golf course, laid out in the early part of the C19th. The pleasure gardens are used along side the Palace, built 1768, for conferences etc. The land to the south of the golf course is Addington Park, acquired in 1930 for use as a public park, the land includes the C19th South Lodge to Addington Palace. The tennis courts in the south-west corner were acquired after WWII.

Sources consulted:

See Register entry and Winterman, M A, Croydon's parks: an illustrated history (LB Croydon, 1988) p6; 1784 G A Walpoole. New British Traveller 56; 1786 W. Thornton New complete and universal history. 506; 1828 G F Prosser. Select Illustrations of Surrey; 1829 J C Loudon Encyclopaedia of Gardening; 1902 Gardeners Chronicle I; 1983 Cherry B, Pevsner N. London 2: South pp204-205; 1974 Stroud D, Capability Brown. 214; 1991 Outline Restoration Plan for Addington Palace Golf Course. Colson Stone; 1996 Addington Palace and Addington Palace Gardens. Restoration Management Plan Prepared for Croydon Borough Council By Colson and Stone
Grid ref: TQ363636/TQ367635
Size in hectares: c30
   
On EH National Register : Yes
EH grade: Grade II
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: Yes (part) - Metropolitan
Green Belt: Yes
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation: Partly AP2
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back