London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Christ Church West Croydon Croydon

Summary

The original Christ Church was a flint-faced building of 1851-2, paid for by Archbishop Sumner. Due to structural problems it was closed in 1978 and, following a petition, approval to demolish the building was given in 1982. However, in 1983 the old church was listed and total demolition therefore not granted. The building was badly damaged by fire in 1985 and a new church retaining the undamaged portion at the western end was opened by the Bishop of Southwark in June 1991. There church has a garden with grass and flower border behind a flint wall to the road, with a few headstones in the shrubbery at the eastern boundary.

Basic Details

Site location:
Sumner Road/Longley Road, Broad Green

Postcode:
CR0 3LJ ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Churchyard

Date(s):
1851-2; 1990s?

Designer(s):
[1991 Maurice Taylor]

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Croydon

Site ownership:
Diocese of Southwark

Site management:
church

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
unrestricted

Special conditions:

Facilities:

Events:

Public transport:
Rail/London Overground: West Croydon. Tube: Colliers Wood

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/05/2006
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.cccroydon.com

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ315664

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
No

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
Yes - Archaeological Priority Zone? To check

Other LA designation:
None

Fuller information

The original church here was a flint-faced building designed by Teulon and built in 1851-2, paid for by Archbishop Sumner. Due to structural problems it was later closed in 1978 and following a petition, approval to demolish the building was given in 1982. However, in 1983 the old church was listed and total demolition therefore not granted although designs for the new church had been agreed by the end of 1982. In December 1985 the south transept caught fire and the building was badly damaged apart from the three bays at the west end and the chancel. Designs were then prepared by Maurice Taylor and the K C White Partnership for a new building that retained the undamaged portion at the western end. The new church was completed in April 1991 and was opened by the Bishop of Southwark in June 1991; presumably this is the date of the current landscaping.

Sources consulted:

B Cherry & N Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England, London 2: South' (1983 reprint 1999 p207; Diocese of Southwark website

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.