London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Coulsdon Common Croydon
   
Summary: Coulsdon Common includes ancient woodland, chalk grassland and remnants of heath, and has a central pond. Two Corporation of London coal posts mark the 1861 boundary of the London district for the purposes of the tax levied by the City on coal and wine brought into London. The tax, instigated in 1667 to pay for rebuilding after the Great Fire, was used for other purposes by the C19th, including payment for the Coulsdon Commons. A windmill or postmill was in operation on the common from 1777 -1898; its site is marked south of Stites Hall Road.
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Coulsdon Road/Stites Hill Road/Hayes Lane/Caterham Drive, Coulsdon
Postcode: CR5 1SX > Google Map
Type of site: Public Open Land
Date(s): medieval
Designer(s):
Listed structures:
Borough: Croydon
Site ownership: City of London Corporation
Site management: West Wickham and Coulsdon Commons.
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities: Football pitch, horse rides; parking. The Fox pub is within the area of the Common
Events: guided walks and other events
Public transport: Rail: Whyteleafe South then bus. Bus: 409, 411, 404, 466
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/05/2005
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.cityoflondon.gov.uk

Fuller information:

Coulsdon Common is within the West Wickham and Coulsdon Commons group of 6 areas managed by Corporation of London, 3 others of which are in Croydon: Farthing Downs, Kenley Common and Riddlesdown (q.q.v.). The site includes ancient woodland, chalk grassland covers less than a third of the common, remnants of heathland with heather and gorse surviving, and in the centre a pond. Woodland species include oak, birch, ash and cherry with understorey of hawthorn, holly and yew; fine bluebell display in spring. On the common are two Corporation of London coal posts that marked the 1861 boundary of the London district for the purposes of the tax levied by the City on coal and wine brought into London. The tax was instigated in 1667 to pay for the rebuilding of the City after the Great Fire. By the C19th the tax was being used for general purposes including the payment of the Coulsdon Commons. The tax lapsed in 1900.

A windmill / postmill was in operation from 1777 to 1898, but not finally removed until 1924 and the site is marked by an enclosure south of Stites Hall Road. The area adjacent is now wooded but would have been open grass and heathland when the windmill was in use. Coulsdon Common has a network of paths and horse rides. The Grove to the west has a grazing paddock, and sheep and cattle graze the common as part of the Corporation's management of the grassland. The London Loop crosses the Common. Green Flag Award for each of the West Wickham and Coulsdon Commons.

Sources consulted:

Corporation of London leaflet
Grid ref: TQ321570
Size in hectares: 51
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
Common exempted under 1965 Act
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List: No
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: Yes - Metropolitan Importance
Green Belt: Yes
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back