London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Acton Green Common Ealing
   
Summary: Acton Green Common is a simple area of open land, laid out with perimeter planting, cross-walks and some mature trees. It is bounded to the south by the railway and at its eastern end it faces the church of St Michael and All Angels and the Tabard Inn, which are among the buildings designed by Norman Shaw for the Bedford Park Garden Suburb. The common was part of the site of the Battle of Brentford during the Civil War when on 12 November 1642 the Royalists under Prince Rupert surprised and overcame the Parliamentarian army under Lord Essex.
Previous / Other name:
Site location: The Avenue/South Parade/Acton Lane/Hardwicke Road, Bedford Park
Postcode: W4 > Google Map
Type of site: Public Park
Date(s):
Designer(s):
Listed structures:
Borough: Ealing
Site ownership: LB Ealing
Site management: Leisure & Parks Service
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities: Play area, picnic area, toilet.
Events: Various events
Public transport: Tube: Turnham Green, Chiswick Park (District). Bus: 94, E3.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/10/2010
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.ealing.gov.uk/services/environment/parks_and_open_spaces

Fuller information:

Acton Green Common is a simple area of open land, laid out with perimeter planting and cross-walks and some mature trees. The central path used to be part of a Roman route used by Legionnaires. The Battle of Brentford during the Civil War took place on this site, and on 12 November 1642 the Royalists under Prince Rupert surprised and overcame the Parliamentarian army under Lord Essex. The battle took place on part of Acton Green Common, Turnham Green (q.v.) and to the south over what was once called Chiswick Common Field. The common is bounded to the south by the railway and overlooked by "a few demure early C19th villas" (Pevsner). On the north side is St Alban's Church, 'large, raw and red' according to Pevsner, built in 1887/8 with a hall and parish club. At its eastern end, the common faces the church of St Michael and All Angels and the Tabard Inn, which are among the buildings designed by Norman Shaw for the Bedford Park Garden Suburb (q.v.), which was built here between 1875-1886.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry and Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England London 3: North West' (Penguin, 1999 ed); Ben Weinreb & Christopher Hibbert, 'The London Encyclopaedia' (Macmillan, revised ed. 1993).
Grid ref: TQ206788
Size in hectares: 5.9
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
Yes: Common (CL118)
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: Yes
Conservation Area name: Acton Green
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back