London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

St Mary's Burial Ground Rest Garden Ealing
   
Summary: St Mary's Burial Ground was established here in 1863 on 1 acre of land that was purchased by the Acton Vestry to provide additional burial land for the parish church of St Mary. The land had been part of a field called Conduit Close that had a number of springs, providing the village with water. By 1929 the cemetery was almost full. In 1979 it converted into a public garden laid out with a paved area, raised planters and seating along the Churchfield Road boundary. It was partly cleared, with headstones largely set against the perimeter walls although some remain scattered among the grass.
Previous / Other name: Acton Old Cemetery; Churchfield Road Old Burial Ground
Site location: Churchfield Road/Grove Place, Acton
Postcode: W3 > Google Map
Type of site: Cemetery
Date(s): 1863
Designer(s):
Listed structures:
Borough: Ealing
Site ownership: Parish Church Council
Site management: LB Ealing Leisure & Parks Service
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: ?locked
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: London Overground: Acton Central. Bus: 207, 266, 70.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/09/2010
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.ealing.gov.uk

Fuller information:

St Mary's Burial Ground was established here in 1863 on 1 acre of land that was purchased for the purpose by the Vestry of Acton Parish Church (although one monument dates from 1814). It was used as a relief burial ground to the parish churchyard of St Mary's (q.v.), and also later relieved pressure on the municipal Acton Cemetery (q.v.) at North Acton. The land had been part of a field called Conduit Close that had a number of springs, providing the village with water. Churchfield Road existed as an ancient track across the Church Field from Acton to East Acton Lane, and was not paved until 1860. The 1865 OS map shows planting around the north and east boundaries of the burial ground with a horseshoe shaped path from the main entrance on Churchfield Road. By 1929 the cemetery was almost full. In 1979 it was partly cleared to make a public garden laid out with a paved area, raised planters and seating along the Churchfield Road boundary; headstones largely against the perimeter walls although some remain scattered among the grass in which there are also various trees and a number of flower beds; a tarmac path between the two entrances. The site is bounded by iron railings along Churchfield Road and part of the east boundary, with an iron entrance gate from Churchfield Road; brick walls predominantly around rest of the site.

Sources consulted:

T F T Baker, C R Elrington (eds), Diane K Bolton, Patricia E C Croot, M A Hicks 'A History of the County of Middlesex: Vol 7: Acton, Chiswick, Ealing and Brentford, West Twyford, Willesden', (Victoria County History, 1982) p35; Middlesex County Times, 31/8/1929; EDA Environmental Design Associates, 'Churchfield Road Old Burial Ground and The Woodlands Park Acton, Historic Landscape Report for LB Ealing', 1999
Grid ref: TQ201802
Size in hectares: 0.41
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: Not known
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: Yes - Archaeological Interest Area
Other LA designation: Green/environmental Project (1408)
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back