London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

St Mary's Churchyard, West Twyford Ealing
   
Summary: Twyford is an ancient parish, which in the C17th and C18th consisted of little more than a manor house and church. The C16th church was rebuilt in the C17th and an early C19th chapel by William Atkinson was later incorporated when the church was enlarged in 1958. There is a small area to the south of the church with a memorial stone set in the grass and a couple of large tombs including a chest tomb. In front of the church is grass, a few trees, flagpole and modern gates. Beyond the churchyard,was the old burial ground of the Alexian Brothers within the lands of Twyford Abbey, a rectangular paved area with two rows of headstones and an altar with wooden cross.
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Brentmead Gardens, West Twyford
Postcode: NW10 7ED > Google Map
Type of site: Churchyard
Date(s):
Designer(s):
Listed structures:
Borough: Ealing
Site ownership: Diocese of London
Site management: Church
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: Tube: Alperton (Piccadilly) then bus. Bus: 224.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/09/2001
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.

Fuller information:

Twyford is an ancient parish, which in the C17th and C18th consisted of little more than a manor house and church. The C16th church was rebuilt in the C17th and a chapel of 1808 by William Atkinson was later incorporated when the church was enlarged in 1958 by N F Cachemaille-Day. However, some wall monuments from the old church were retained including those of Robert Moyle (d.1638) and Walter Moyle (d.1660). The church was redundant by the 1990s and stripped of its contents. There is a small area to the south of the church with a memorial stone set in the grass and a couple of large tombs including a chest tomb. In front of the church is grass, a few trees, flagpole and modern gates. Water appears to flow under the church. Beyond the churchyard, inaccessible but visible, is the old burial ground of the Alexian Brothers within the lands of Twyford Abbey (q.v.), a rectangular paved area with two rows of headstones and an altar with a wooden cross.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry and Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England London 3: North West' (Penguin, 1999 ed), p197/8; London Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches data
Grid ref: TQ189831
Size in hectares:
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: Yes
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: Yes - Archaeological Interest Area
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back