London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Enfield Playing Fields Enfield

Summary

Enfield Playing Fields were provided as recreational space in 1939. The large area of land, some 128.5 acres formerly Bury Farm, was purchased by Enfield Borough Council with the help of a grant of £3,500 from King George's Fields Foundation, as a result of which the site is also known as King George's Playing Fields. Within the park is the Art Deco Queen Elizabeth II Stadium, a brick building with a round turret. A line of horse chestnut trees runs through the playing fields.

Basic Details

Previous / Other name:
King George V Playing Fields

Site location:
Great Cambridge Road/Donkey Lane

Postcode:
EN1 3SD ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Park

Date(s):
1939

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
LBII: Queen Elizabeth Stadium

Borough:
Enfield

Site ownership:
LB Enfield

Site management:
Place Shaping and Enterprise, Parks Business Unit

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:

Special conditions:

Facilities:

Events:

Public transport:
Rail: Enfield Town then bus. Bus: 121, 191, 231, 307, 313, 317

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/04/2011
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.enfield.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ340970

Size in hectares:
52

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
Not known

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
Yes

Special Policy Area:

Other LA designation:
None

Fuller information

The King George’s Fields Foundation was established on 3 November 1936 in order to promote the establishment of playing fields in memory of the late King George. It was considered that the King would have approved of such a living memorial, which would benefit the 'individual well-being and the general welfare of the nation', and young people in particular, by providing them with the environment and opportunity for open air exercise. The Trust Deed of the Foundation defined a playing field as 'any open space used for the purpose of outdoor games, sports and pastimes.' Local authorities were able to apply to the Foundation, whose trustee was the National Playing Fields Association, for a grant to provide these new facilities for public recreation. Each new playing field was to be known as King George's Field and was generally provided with heraldic panels that would distinguish it as such. It was a condition of the grant that the tenure of the site was sufficiently secure so that it would provide a meaningful legacy to the king's memory; the land must have been acquired only for the purpose of public recreation. The design of the entrance and the ground's layout had to be approved by the Foundation, which was to receive an annual report for the first five years from the acceptance of the offer. 471 playing fields across the UK were funded and following the demise of the scheme in 1965, their protection has been undertaken by Fields in Trust. The largest King George's Field is Enfield Playing Fields, some 128 acres, and the smallest is in the City of London, King George's Field in Portsoken Street (q.v.).

Sources consulted:

Walk 5: Edmonton Green to Turkey Street, Trainwalkslondon's Blog (www.trainwalkslondon.wedpress.com/2011/walk-5; 'History of the King George's Fields Foundation' and other information on www.fieldsintrust.org

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.