A large rose garden and terraces remain on the site of Castle Wood House, built in 1870 and now demolished. The site was purchased by the LCC after the last owner's death in 1920 and it was opened to the public in 1925 as an addition to the existing public park around nearby Severndroog Castle, both now incorporated into Shooters Hill Woodlands. The garden has mature Wellingtonia, flower beds set into lawn and the remains of stonework terraces and steps.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/12/2006
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.royalgreenwich.gov.uk
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
A large rose garden and terraces remain on the site of Castle Wood House, built 1870 and now demolished. The site became available after the death in 1920 of the last owner, Probyn Godson, and was purchased by the LCC after lobbying by the newly formed Shooter's Hill Preservation Society. The Society invited subscriptions in order to buy Castle Woods and collected £6,000 by 1921 with the LCC contributing £10,000 to prepare the c.9 hectare site and maintain it. The garden was opened to the public in 1925 and added to the public park already established around Severndroog Castle (q.v.) and both are incorporated into the various woods which make up Shooters Hill Woodlands (q.v.), which include Oxleas Wood and Jack Wood. The setting of these formal terraces within the wider grassland and woods of Shooters Hill is extraordinary, with fine views over London. Among the trees are mature Wellingtonia, flower beds are set into lawn and there are remains of stonework terraces and steps.
Spurgeon, D, Discover Eltham, 1992, p 83.