London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Queen Elizabeth's College Almshouses Greenwich
   
Summary: Queen Elizabeth's College was founded in 1576 by historian William Lambard, and provided homes for the poor and elderly of Greenwich. The almshouses were subsequently rebuilt in 1817 as 40 one-bedroom cottages. In 1967 Lambard House was built to provide a further 28 flats. The almshouse cottages are on three sides of a quadrangle with a chapel at the centre of the south range. To the front is a small communal garden that comprises a simple lawn with specimen trees and shrubs.
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Greenwich High Road/South Street, Greenwich
Postcode: SE10 > Google Map
Type of site: Housing/Estate Landscaping
Date(s): 1576; 1817
Designer(s):
Listed structures: LBII: Queen Elizabeth's College Almshouses; front railings and gates to north of almshouses
Borough: Greenwich
Site ownership: The Drapers' Company
Site management: Hanover Housing Association
Open to public? No
Opening times: private, visible from High Street
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: DLR/Rail: Greenwich. Bus: 177.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.thedrapers.co.uk; www.hanover.org.uk

Fuller information:

Queen Elizabeth's College was founded in 1576 by the historian William Lambard, the first public charity to be founded following the Reformation, and provided homes for the poor and elderly of Greenwich. It is recorded on the South Benefaction Board in St Alfege's Church (q.v.).The almshouses were subsequently rebuilt in 1817 as 40 one-bedroom cottages, probably designed by Jesse Gibson, surveyor to The Drapers' Company, which continues to act as Trustee for the charity. In 1967 Lambard House was built as part of the estate to provide an additional 28 flats, some with 2-bedrooms. The residents were provided with a small communal garden, which now comprises a simple lawn with specimen trees and shrubs; the almshouse cottages are on three sides of the quadrangle with a chapel with Ionic portico, pediment and cupola at the centre of the south range. Queen Elizabeth's College is one of three almshouses in London that come under the trusteeship of The Drapers' Company, and managed by Hanover Housing Association. The almshouses continue to provide housing for people over 65, who live in either Greenwich or Lewisham. Facilities for the residents include the landscaped communal garden, a Community Hall for social activities, a Chapel and a laundry. There is an active social club, organized by the residents, providing a range of activities and outings.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry & Nikolaus Pevsner, The Buildings of England: London 2: South (Penguin) 1999, p 270; Robert and Celia Godley, 'Greenwich: A history of Greenwich, Blackheath, Charlton, Deptford and Woolwich', 1999.
Grid ref: TQ380772
Size in hectares:
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: Yes
Conservation Area name: CA
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back