London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Vanbrugh Park Greenwich
   
Summary: Vanbrugh Park is a 1960s housing estate designed for Greenwich Metropolitan Borough, which comprises one tall block and a grid of 2-storey terraces in a landscaped setting of mature trees, a network of paths and communal spaces, with brick garden walls and pergolas. It is named after Sir John Vanbrugh who succeeded Sir Christopher Wren as Surveyor of Greenwich Hospital in 1716 and who lived in the area between 1719-1726,
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Vanbrugh Park/Vanbrugh Park Road West, Woolwich (extends to Westcombe Park Road from Blackheath)
Postcode: SE3 > Google Map
Type of site: Housing/Estate Landscaping
Date(s): 1961-65
Designer(s): Geoffrey Powell of Chamberlin, Powell and Bon
Listed structures:
Borough: Greenwich
Site ownership: RB Greenwich
Site management: Cleansweep
Open to public? Partially
Opening times: private, though unrestricted
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: Rail: Maze Hill. Bus: 386.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/12/2006
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.royalgreenwich.gov.uk

Fuller information:

Vanbrugh Park is a housing estate designed by Geoffrey Powell of Chamberlin, Powell and Bon for Greenwich Metropolitan Borough in 1961-65. It consists of one tall block of flats and the remainder of the housing an informal grid of 2-storey terraces in a setting of lavish planting. The landscape of mature trees, a network of paths and communal spaces are between brick garden walls and pergolas. The approach to the estate from Vanbrugh Park Road between 2 brick piers is reminiscent of the Barbican (q.v.), the well-known estate that the firm also designed. Vanbrugh Park is named after Sir John Vanbrugh who succeeded Sir Christopher Wren as Surveyor of Greenwich Hospital in 1716 and who moved to the area and lived here between 1719-1726. He built a Gothic house, Vanbrugh Castle, where he lived until his death, as well as Vanbrugh House in 1722 and other Gothic houses since demolished in early C20th. Vanbrugh Castle had various owners until the 1820s since which time it has been used for educational purposes, as a private school in 1905-1921 then a school and orphanage. Restored in 1976 by Blackheath Preservation Society, since 1977 it has been divided into four private properties.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry & Nikolaus Pevsner, The Buildings of England: London 2: South (Penguin) 1999 p274; EH report, "London Suburbs", p26; Robert and Celia Godley, 'Greenwich: A history of Greenwich, Blackheath, Charlton, Deptford and Woolwich', 1999; Ben Weinreb & Christopher Hibbert, 'The London Encyclopaedia' (Macmillan, revised ed. 1993).
Grid ref: TQ397772
Size in hectares: c. 2.84
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: Yes
Conservation Area name: Blackheath
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back