London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Frank Banfield Park Hammersmith & Fulham

Summary

Frank Banfield Park is named after a former Mayor and Alderman of Fulham and was laid out in the 1970s, part of the Fulham riverside development. In 2008 the park was refurbished and re-opened on 9 October, the redevelopment a result of a planning agreement in 2003 between LBHF and developer Goodman, who own, develop and manage the Waterfront and Riverside buildings at the nearby Hammersmith Embankment development.

Basic Details

Site location:
Fulham Palace Road, Distillery Place, Hammersmith

Postcode:
W6 ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Park

Date(s):
1970s

Designer(s):
Local Authority

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Hammersmith & Fulham

Site ownership:
LB Hammersmith & Fulham

Site management:
Environment Department, Parks Service (ground maintenance by Quadron Services); Hammersmith Embankment Residents Association

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
Mon-Fri 8am-dusk; Sat/Sun/Bank Holidays 9am-dusk

Special conditions:

Facilities:
Play area; Distillery Play Centre

Events:

Public transport:
Tube: Hammersmith (Piccadilly, District, Hammersmith & City). Bus: 190, 211, 220, 295

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/06/2010
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.lbhf.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ234781

Size in hectares:
1.44

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
No

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
Small Local Park; Open Space of Borough-wide Importance

Fuller information

Frank Banfield JP was on the LCC, the GLC and an Alderman of Fulham Council for 36 years. He was Mayor of Fulham in 1952-53. The park named after him was laid out in the 1970s as part of the Fulham riverside development. It is primarily a playing area, with adventure playground, basketball court in a mini-stadium, play area and grass, with a couple of mounds, and shrubs planted along the border. In 2008 the park was refurbished and re-opened on 9 October by the Mayor of Hammersmith & Fulham and other dignitaries. The redevelopment came as a result of a planning agreement in 2003 between LBHF and developer Goodman, who own, develop and manage the Waterfront and Riverside buildings at the nearby Hammersmith Embankment development. The re-landscaping was designed by Capita Lovejoy and new features included a children's play area, landscaping and benches, and improvements to railings and gates. The park won a Green Flag Award in 2010/11 for the third year in a row.

Sources consulted:

LB Hammersmith & Fulham, 'Draft Management Plan 2009-2014'

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.