|Wormholt Estate||Hammersmith & Fulham|
The Wormholt Estate was built for Hammersmith Council to rehouse people from the riverbank area that is now Furnival Gardens. The red brick houses are set back from the road around small greens with trees. The streets of the estate are named after plants and flowers, and a focal point is provided by the pavilion-like library, which is surrounded by lawns with some flower planting and seats, situated at the northern tip of Hemlock Road. To the south is Wormholt Park.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2011
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.lbhf.gov.uk
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
The Wormholt Estate follows the pattern of the LCC's earlier Old Oak Estate (q.v.) and the land was likewise acquired in 1919 from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. At first the LCC built 783 houses and two schools in 1926-28, and Hammersmith Borough Council proposed a further 500 houses on an adjacent area of 76 acres, which forms the core of the Wormholt Estate today. Designed by H T Hare and others for Hammersmith Council, the red-brick houses of the Wormholt Estate are less picturesque but more substantial than the earlier estate although their setting retains the use of greens and street trees. The initial intention was to provide 37 shops along Western Avenue but this had to be abandoned for reasons of cost. To the south of the estate is Wormholt Park (q.v.), which had opened in 1911.
Bridget Cherry and Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England London 3: North West' (Penguin, 1999 ed) p209, 224; LB Hammersmith & Fulham 'Wormholt and Old Oak Design Guidelines'