London Gardens Online
London Gardens Online


Albert Road Recreation Ground Haringey


Albert Road Recreation Ground was laid out in the early 1900s as the area was being developed for housing. The park was later extended and a tennis and bowling club was established in 1925, and other facilities included mini golf and a swimming pool. The pool closed in the 1980s and is now a garden centre.

Basic Details

Previous / Other name:
Albert Rec

Site location:
Albert Road/ Durnsford Road/Bidwell Gardens

N22 ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Park

early 1900s


Listed structures:


Site ownership:
LB Haringey

Site management:
Parks Service

Open to public?

Opening times:

Special conditions:

Playground, tennis and basketball courts, cricket and football pitches, bowling green. Pavilion café, toilets.

Mainly sports events; also annual Easter Egg hunt

Public transport:
Tube: Bounds Green (Piccadilly) then bus. Bus: 102, 184, 299

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2011
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.;

Further Information

Grid ref:

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:

On EH National Register :

EH grade:

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:

In Conservation Area:

Tree Preservation Order:

Nature Conservation Area:
Yes - Local

Green Belt:

Metropolitan Open Land:

Special Policy Area:

Other LA designation:

Fuller information

Before the area was developed for housing, there was a clay pit and brickworks here in use until the early C20th. Before the park was laid out in the early 1900s it was open land that was already being used by local people for recreation. Albert Road Recreation Ground was originally smaller than it is today and had its main entrance on Clifton Road, but it was later extended to its current size. In the early 1920s Durnsford Road was laid out, and new recreational facilities were gradually provided in the park. In 1925 a tennis and bowling club was established for which a small pavilion was built, and a mini golf course was added. Prior to WWII, the park also had a small café but this closed soon after the war ended. A swimming pool was built in the early 1930s, which was bombed during WWII and later restored, but it eventually closed in the 1980s having become neglected. In 1991 the pool was purchased and transformed by the Sunshine Garden Centre, which is now active in supporting and sponsoring park activities in the borough.

The Friends of Albert Road Recreation Ground was set up 2001 and organises events in co-operation with the Council. The Pavilion Café has recently been revamped to provide changing and toilet facilities as well as a café, which is leased by Haringey Tennis, an organisation that manages and takes bookings for the park's recently improved tennis courts. Albert Road Recreation Ground has won a Green Flag Award in consecutive years since 2006.

Sources consulted:

Albert Road Recreation Ground Management Plan 2006-2010

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.