London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Connaught Recreation Ground Hillingdon

Summary

Connaught Recreation Ground is a small park with rose beds and playgrounds in the north, fronted by railings onto Uxbridge Road. It was laid out by the mid-1930s as housing was increasingly developed here, prior to which it is shown on OS maps as a field and there were nurseries in the area into the C20th. A drinking fountain and path layout are shown in 1935 with a park lodge and lavotories in place by 1965, and allotment gardens to the south-east of the park.

Basic Details

Site location:
Uxbridge Road, Hillingdon

Postcode:
UB10 0NW ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Park

Date(s):
1930s

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Hillingdon

Site ownership:
LB Hillingdon

Site management:
Green Spaces Team

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
7.30am - dusk

Special conditions:

Facilities:
playground

Events:

Public transport:
Tube: Uxbridge (Piccadilly, Metropolitan) then bus. Rail: Hayes & Harlington then bus. Bus: 195, H98, 207, 607, 90.

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2005
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.hillingdon.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ080821

Size in hectares:
1.4

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
No

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
None

Fuller information

Connaught Lodge was a C19th property on Uxbridge Road to the south, now built over.

Sources consulted:

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.