Feltham Burial Board purchased land called The Long Pightle in 1885 for a new cemetery, which was consecrated in 1886; part of the land was later fenced off and temporarily used for allotments. There used to be a mortuary here, and the main entrance on Ashford Road has more recent gates, with older ornamental gates on the corner opposite St Dunstan's Church. The cemetery is surrounded by low walls that have lost their original railings. Mature yews line the path from the entrance with mature conifers along the boundary with Sunbury Road where there is an early C20th lych-gate. The cemetery is laid out on a grid pattern and has graves set among grass and scattered trees.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2005
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.hounslow.gov.uk
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
The picturesque lych-gate was built in memory of E L Benyon of Oak House, Feltham Hill, erected by his wife and sister in 1903. Near the lych-gate are nine war graves where children from Feltham Hill School place flowers every Armistice Day. Among those buried in the cemetery are A W Smith and his father. A W Smith developed market gardening in Feltham, which became famous for supplying London markets with fruit and vegetables after the railway opened and enabled easy distribution. Smith had the largest tomato greenhouses in the world at the time and developed new varieties such as the 'Feltham First' pea.
Bridget Cherry and Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England London 3: North West' (Penguin, 1999 edition); Feltham Heritage Trails: 2. Feltham Village (n.d.)