London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Collier Row Recreation Ground Havering

Summary

Collier Row was in agricultural use until the 1930s and the name refers to the charcoal burners who lived here when the hills beyond Romford were wooded. Soon after the area began to be developed for housing the local Council acquired land for a public recreation ground and Collier Row Recreation Ground opened in 1935. New facilities were opened in 2006 providing play areas for young children and teenagers. The River Rom runs through the park.

Basic Details

Site location:
Collier Row Road/Eaton Drive/Downham Close, Collier Row

Postcode:
RM5 ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Park

Date(s):
1935

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Havering

Site ownership:
LB Havering

Site management:
Parks and Open Spaces

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
unrestricted

Special conditions:

Facilities:
car park, play areas

Events:

Public transport:
Rail: Romford then bus. Bus: 247, 252, 294

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/03/2006
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.havering.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ494911

Size in hectares:
2.5

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
Not known

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
Green Chain

Fuller information

Land was acquired for a public recreation ground by the local council and opened in 1935 soon after the area began to be developed for housing. Collier Row was in agricultural use until the 1930s and the name refers to the charcoal burners who lived here when the hills beyond Romford were wooded. The site links in the north to Collier Row Green Link, a narrow area of grassland running alongside the River Rom, which also runs through the Recreation Ground. New play areas were provided in 2006 for children and young people in the Collier Row area, funded by Havering Council at a cost of £100,000. The Council's Parks Service worked closely with the local community to develop the facilities. The new play area for children of pre-school age up to 12 years old contains a wide range of equipment including toddler and junior swings, a storm and nursery rhymes multi-play systems, a revolution Inclusive roundabout, a glow worm seesaw, a cockerel bounce-about, a fun trail, toadstool seats, litter bins, a bench and a picnic table. The teenage area features a large ball court for football and basketball, a teen shelter, spinning disc and relaxation seating area.

Sources consulted:

LB Havering Tourism 'Havering's History' website

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.