London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

South Essex Crematorium and Memorial Gardens Havering

Summary

South Essex Crematorium was opened in 1957 by Hornchurch UDC, laid out on open land to the west of Upminster Cemetery, established here in 1902. The first cremation took place on 4 July of that year. The site was expanded along its western boundary by 1971. Enclosed by red brick walls, the grounds and memorial gardens were from the first laid out formally and well-planted, subdivided into separate areas. A drive from the entrance led to the main red brick crematorium buildings, fronted by an ornamental pond.

Basic Details

Previous / Other name:
Corbets Tey Crematorium, Upminster Crematorium

Site location:
Ockendon Road, Corbets Tey, Upminster

Postcode:
RM14 2UY ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Cemetery

Date(s):
1956/7

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Havering

Site ownership:
South Essex Crematorium

Site management:
South Essex Crematorium

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
daily 9am - 4pm (November - March); 9am - 7pm (April - October)

Special conditions:

Facilities:
Tea room, toilets

Events:

Public transport:
Rail/Tube: Upminster (District) then bus. Bus: 370

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/02/2007
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.havering.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ566851

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
Not known

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
Yes

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
Yes - Thames Chase Community Forest

Other LA designation:
None

Fuller information

South Essex Crematorium was opened in 1957 by Hornchurch UDC laid out on open land to the west of Upminster Cemetery (q.v.), which had been established here in 1902. The first cremation took place on 4 July 1957. By this time the area to the west and north was built over with suburban housing, although in the east and south remained largely farmland. The Crematorium site was expanded along its western boundary by 1971. Enclosed by red brick walls, the grounds and memorial gardens were from the first laid out formally, subdivided into separate areas with well-kept grass, beds, flowering trees and variegated shrubs. The main red brick crematorium buildings incorporated on the east side a circular Chapel of Meditation with a conical roof, the complex surrounded by Tuscan colonnaded verandas. From the main entrance, a drive led to the buildings, with a large oval pond now an ornamental lily pond.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry, Charles O'Brien, Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England, London 5: East', Yale University Press, 2005, p210

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.