London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Upminster Cemetery Havering
   
Summary: Upminster Cemetery dates from 1902 to provide for the growing population of Upminster parish. Built on a rectangular piece of land to the east of Corbets Tey hamlet, the cemetery was simply laid out with a central roadway leading to a small mortuary chapel towards the back of the plot. At that time the cemetery was surrounded by open land, and this is not much changed even today. The South Essex Crematorium was built on adjacent land in 1956/7, and the original cemetery land was itself extended to the north, with further expansion by 1989 to the east.
Previous / Other name:
Site location: Ockendon Road, Corbets Tey, Upminster
Postcode: RM14 2UY > Google Map
Type of site: Cemetery
Date(s): 1902
Designer(s):
Listed structures:
Borough: Havering
Site ownership: South Essex Crematorium
Site management: South Essex Crematorium
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: daily April to October 9am - 7pm; November to March 9am - 4pm
Special conditions:
Facilities:
Events:
Public transport: Rail/Tube: Upminster then bus. Bus: 370
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.havering.gov.uk

Fuller information:

Upminster Cemetery dates from 1902, providing for the growing population of the parish of Upminster parish. Built on a rectangular piece of land to the east of the hamlet of Corbets Tey and south of Upminster, the cemetery was simply laid out with a central roadway leading to a small mortuary chapel towards the back of the plot. At that time the cemetery was surrounded by open land, and this is not much changed even today. Although gravel working rather than agriculture became the predominant activity in the open land near Corbets Tey from the early 1960s, a number of historic farms remained, such as Great Sunnings and Little Sullens to the south of the cemetery, which may date from the C15th or C16th. The population of the hamlet of Corbets Tey actually declined between 1891and 1911 but development to the north took place in the 1930s encouraged by the regular running of the District Line to Upminster. The South Essex Crematorium (q.v.) was built on adjacent land to the west in 1956/7, and the original cemetery land was itself extended to the north of its chapel, opening out into a rectangular area behind the land of the Crematorium. Further expansion of Upminster Cemetery took place by 1989, directly to the east of the original cemetery land.

Sources consulted:

Grid ref: TQ568852
Size in hectares:
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List: No
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: Yes
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: Yes - Thames Chase Community Forest
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back