London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Claremont Close Islington

Summary

The central garden at Claremont Close is an oval space that acts as a focus for the surrounding eight blocks of flats erected in 1935/6, the last 'square' to be built by the New River Company. The site had previously served as cattle layers for beasts en route to Smithfield Market, and by the 1840s there were livery stables and service buildings here. When the flats were built in 1935 two houses were removed in order to provide better access.

Basic Details

Site location:
Claremont Square

Postcode:
N1 ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Housing/Estate Landscaping

Date(s):
1935/6

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Islington

Site ownership:
private

Site management:
private

Open to public?
No

Opening times:
private, front garden area visible

Special conditions:

Facilities:

Events:

Public transport:
Tube: Angel (Northern). Bus: 30, 73, 214

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/04/2004
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ312830

Size in hectares:
0.3

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
Yes

Conservation Area name:
New River

Tree Preservation Order:
No

Nature Conservation Area:
Yes - Borough Importance II

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
Local/strategic view corridor

Fuller information

Claremont Close is off Claremont Square (q.v.), on land owned by the New River Company. In 1841 it was listed as Claremont Mews with livery stables and service buildings and by 1848 the mews was occupied by cab proprietors, a coach builder and similar trades. It is first described as Claremont Close on Pinks' map of 1865, and the entry was a narrow covered way between 32 Claremont Square and 1 Mylne Street. When the flats were built in 1935 these two houses were removed in order to provide better access. The central garden area onto which the housing faces is reached through a gateway with piers that have plaques for the New River Company and also recording that the Close was restored in 1946 following bomb damage. The ornamental garden has a small central stone fountain, rose beds and paths. Behind the flats are two areas not publicly accessible that are of interest for the diversity of the wild flowers here.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry & Nikolaus Pevsner, The Buildings of England: London 4: North (Penguin, 1998); Michael Waite, John Archer, 'Nature Conservation in Islington', Ecology Handbook 19 (London Ecology Unit, 1992); Mary Cosh, The Squares of Islington Part I: Finsbury and Clerkenwell, (London, 1990)

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.