London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Avondale Park Kensington & Chelsea
   
Summary: Avondale Park was laid out in in the 1890s by Kensington Borough Council on the former site of the main refuse dump and cesspool. The park opened to the public in 1892 and among the original facilities were a playground, shelter, entrance lodge and bandstand, the latter demolished in 1966. A grey granite drinking fountain was presented by the Metropolitan Drinking Fountain and Cattle Trough Association. In recent years a nature area has been created and there are ornamental bedding displays in some areas including around the Lodge.
Previous / Other name: Walmer Road Recreation Ground
Site location: Walmer Road
Postcode: W11 > Google Map
Type of site: Public Park
Date(s): 1892
Designer(s): William Weaver, Borough Surveyor
Listed structures:
Borough: Kensington & Chelsea
Site ownership: RB Kensington & Chelsea
Site management: Leisure Services, Parks & Open Spaces
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: 7.30am - dusk
Special conditions: Fees for use of sports pitch (sports bookings 020 7602 2226)
Facilities: Children’s play areas, small wildlife area, modern floodlit all-weather sports pitch, toilets, dog facilities, baby changing facilities
Events:
Public transport: Tube: Latimer Road (Metropolitan)
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/06/2010
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.rbkc.gov.uk

Fuller information:

Avondale Park was laid out in the 1890s when the 4.2 acre site was purchased for £16,245, with £9,613 from Kensington Borough Council, £4,250 from the London County Council and a further £2,382 raised by public subscription. It was on the former site of the main refuse dump and cesspool of the Potteries, known as the Ocean. William Weaver, Kensington Borough Council's Surveyor was responsible for layout and the general contractors for this park were Flew & Co. who supplied the bandstand, later demolished in 1966. The park opened to the public in 1892 and among its facilities were a playground, shelter and entrance lodge. A grey granite drinking fountain was presented by the Metropolitan Drinking Fountain and Cattle Trough Association. A nature area has been created and there are ornamental bedding displays in some areas including around the Lodge. Refurbishment works have taken place to improve paths and in 2010 the first stage of improvements saw the installation of a new playground part-funded by Family and Children's Services as part of the Play Pathfinder initiative. The new playground opened to the public on 31 March with facilities for both older and younger children.

Sources consulted:

BK Kensington Parks Archive; 'The London County Council and what it does for London: London Parks and Open Spaces' (Hodder & Stoughton, 1924)
Grid ref: TQ241805
Size in hectares: 1.5341
   
On EH National Register : No
EH grade:
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
No
 
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: Yes - Local Importance (Wildlife Garden)
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: No
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation:
   

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back