London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Pullman Court Lambeth

Summary

Pullman Court was built by William Bernstein aimed at young professionals, and designed by architect Frederick Gibberd, a striking modern estate. Originally to be called Relay House, the new development became Pullman Court, possibly to make the connection with what had become a by-word for high speed travel. Many of the existing trees on the site were retained and the blocks were set in landscaped grounds. Among other amenities were roof gardens, an open-air swimming pool, restaurant and social club.

Basic Details

Site location:
Streatham Hill

Postcode:
SW2 4SZ ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Housing/Estate Landscaping

Date(s):
1936

Designer(s):
Frederick Gibberd

Listed structures:
LBII*: Pullman Court

Borough:
Lambeth

Site ownership:
private

Site management:

Open to public?
Occasionally

Opening times:
private for residents, but has opened for London Open House

Special conditions:

Facilities:

Events:

Public transport:
Rail: Streatham Hill, Brixton then bus. Tube: Brixton (Victoria) then bus. Bus: 159, 137, 133, 109, 250

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/09/2009
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ305732

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
No

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
Yes (frontage on Streatham Hill is part of Archaeological Priority Area)

Other LA designation:
None

Fuller information

The site was previously that of a residential school for boys and girls established by the Royal Asylum of St Anne's Society in 1830. The school moved to Redhill, Surrey in the late 1880s and part of the site was used for a tram depot, the remaining c.1.2 hectares acquired by William Bernstein for development. He identified there was a market for quality accommodation in the form of one and two bedroom flats for the young professional classes, due to its convenient location for London, and commissioned architect Frederick Gibberd, then 23 years old, to undertake the design. Gibberd's design epitomised the modern age, although there was some opposition among nearby residents, fearful that housing for single people might encourage prostitution. As a result some larger flats were created at the front of the development suitable for young families. Pullman Court consists of 5 3-storey blocks fronting Streatham Hill, two 5-storey blocks along the central driveway and two 7-storey blocks at the back of the site overlooking the covered reservoir of Lambeth waterworks, totalling 218 flats.

Over the years, the gardens suffered from some neglect but in 2009 extra resources were being put into improving the grounds, employing a professional gardener to assist a voluntary group of the residents. Clearing and planting has taken place and the aim is to bring back the original bedding scheme.

Sources consulted:

On-site information boards

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.