|Blythe Hill Fields||Lewisham|
Blythe Hill Fields is a large grassy mound, some 70 metres high from where there are fine views. The land was formerly part of Brockley Farm and also the site of a brickworks, which was saved from housing development partly due to the hilly nature of the site. Blythe Hill House was built to the south in 1842 and its grounds covered a large part of Blythe Hill; the house was demolished in 1895. The land was purchased by the LCC and opened as a public park in 1935. A chimney from the former brickworks remained until 1938.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/04/2012
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.lewisham.gov.uk/inmyarea/openspaces/parks; www.blythehillfields.org.uk
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
The Friends of Blythe Hill Fields was established in October 2003 to promote the increased use, access to and enjoyment of Blythe Hill Fields. The group liaises with partners such as Lewisham Council, in order to maintain existing facilities as well as develop and install new ones
John Archer, Ian Yarham, 'Nature Conservation in Lewisham', Ecology Handbook 30, London Ecology Unit, 2000; Darrell Spurgeon, 'Discover Sydenham and Catford', (Greenwich Guide-books, 1999)