London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

Barkingside Recreation Ground Redbridge

Summary

Barkingside was part of the municipal borough of Ilford, which once lay within the large estate lands belonging to Barking Abbey. In the 1880s the hamlet consisted of a few houses and cottages, the church, public houses and the charitable institution of Dr Barnardo, but even into the 1920s the area was quite rural. Barkingside Recreation Ground dates from the early C20th. Near the entrance on Cranbrook Road is a drinking fountain presented in 1906 by Cllr W P Griggs, JP and Chairman of Ilford UDC's Parks Committee.

Basic Details

Previous / Other name:
Cranbrook Park

Site location:
Cranbrook Road/Mossford Green, Barkingside, Ilford

Postcode:
IG6 ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Park

Date(s):
early C20th

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Redbridge

Site ownership:
LB Redbridge

Site management:
Vision Redbridge Culture and Leisure Ltd

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
Daily 8am-dusk (check site owner for closing time); closed Christmas Day

Special conditions:

Facilities:
Children's play areas, 2 cricket pitches, 2 football pitches, tennis courts, toilets. Barkingside Cricket Club

Events:

Public transport:
Tube: Barkingside (Central). Bus: 129, 150, 167, 247, 275.

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/09/2010
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.redbridge.gov.uk

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ442897

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
No

Nature Conservation Area:
No

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
No

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
Local Open Space

Fuller information

Barkingside was part of the municipal borough of Ilford, which once lay within the large estate lands belonging to Barking Abbey. Its position in relation to the Hainault Forest may have been the reason for the name Barkingside despite its distance from Barking. In the 1880s the hamlet consisted of a few houses and labourers' cottages, the church, public houses and the charitable institution of Dr Barnardo, but even into the 1920s the surrounding area was quite rural. Barkingside station opened in 1903. Barkingside Recreation Ground was originally called Cranbrook Park, and dates from c.1906. Near the entrance on Cranbrook Road is a drinking fountain that was presented in 1906 to Cranbrook Park by Cllr W P Griggs, JP and Chairman of Ilford UDC's Parks Committee. The park had a children's playground and was the venue for regular local flower shows in the 1940s (and later?). The park is largely laid to grass with perimeter trees, and retains its iron railings and gates.

Sources consulted:

Edward Walford, 'Village London, the Story of Greater London, Part 2 - North and East', first published 1883/4 (1985 ed., The Alderman Press); Helen Finch 'Barkingside Memories' , 2005

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.