London Gardens Online
Record
London Gardens Online

SITE DETAILS

King's Field Richmond

Summary

King George V donated the site to the National Playing Fields Association in June 1927 for use by local children. It now houses the borough's first skateboard park following fund-raising by a keen group of local skaters, which opened in June 1998.

Basic Details

Previous / Other name:
The King's Field

Site location:
Church Grove, Hampton Wick

Postcode:
KT1 4AE ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Open Land

Date(s):
1927

Designer(s):

Listed structures:
None

Borough:
Richmond

Site ownership:
LB Richmond

Site management:
Environment Planning & Review, Parks and Open Spaces

Open to public?
Yes

Opening times:
Mon - Sat: 7.30am - dusk/Sun & Bank Hols: 9am - dusk. Skate park 10am-dusk, check website for current charge per session

Special conditions:

Facilities:
Skate park (Access Pass required), tennis courts, playground, cricket/football pitches, café

Events:

Public transport:
Rail: Teddington, Hampton. Bus: 281, 285, 465

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2010
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.richmond.gov.uk/parks_and_open_spaces

Further Information

Grid ref:
TQ173693

Size in hectares:
4.15

Green Flag:
No

On EH National Register :
No

EH grade:
None

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
No

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
No

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
No

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:
No

In Conservation Area:
No

Tree Preservation Order:
Not known

Nature Conservation Area:
Yes - Metropolitan Importance

Green Belt:
No

Metropolitan Open Land:
Yes

Special Policy Area:
No

Other LA designation:
None

Fuller information

The park is walled to the main Hampton Court Road, and to the north the boundary with Bushy Park (q.v.) consists of chain link fencing. There is a pavilion on the corner of Church Grove/Hampton Court Road.

Sources consulted:

LB Richmond Parks booklet

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.