This is a long narrow garden that separates the C19th houses of Grove Crescent from Camberwell Grove. Prior to becoming a road, this was an avenue of trees called Walnut Tree Grove, which led from an old Manor House of Camberwell Buckingham to the top of the hill. The manor house was demolished in 1776 when the estate was sold and the area began to be developed. It became popular among well-to-do people, with many fine houses built here.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/04/2002
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
The fine houses of Grove Crescent, 4 linked pairs of houses with wrought iron railings in front, were built in 1819 by William Whitten, a solicitor who had bought the estate of Dr Lettsom, part of whose once extensive grounds survive as Lettsom Gardens (q.v.). A print from the sale catalogue of 1836 shows the crescent fronted by an open area of grass, with some shrubs and post and railings.
Mary Boast, The Story of Camberwell, LB Southwark Neighbourhood History No. 1, 1996