|St Mary the Virgin Churchyard, Beddington||Sutton|
St Mary the Virgin Church at Beddington is recorded in the Domesday Book in 1086. Fragments of the church building date from just post the Norman Conquest, although the building is largely C14th. Between the churchyard and Beddington Manor house are brick and flint walls dating from at least the C17th, those to south and west of later date. The oldest part of the churchyard is to the south and west of the church, with a picturesque lych-gate on Church Road. Between 1829-69, a number of structural changes were made to the church, including repairs to the tower, and c.1868 the area for burials was enlarged when land to the west across Church Road was laid out as a graveyard. The extension has flint walls and a large entrance-gate, erected c.1868. In the mid 1960s the churchyard extension was re-ordered with gravestones laid flat and repairs were carried out to the flint boundary walls. A fine memorial with cross is located n the churchyard extension.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/03/2016
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.stmarysbeddington.org.uk
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
The gateway at the entrance of the western graveyard was designed by Joseph Clarke c.1868; it has an inscription above the entrance: 'All that are in the graves shall hear the voice of God and shall come forth'. The churchyard is now closed to burials.
LB Sutton Heritage website; church website; Ian Yarham, Richard Barnes, Bob Britton 'Nature Conservation in Sutton', Ecology Handbook 22, London Ecology Unit, 1993; Bridget Cherry & Nikolaus Pevsner, The Buildings of England: London 2: South (Penguin) 1999 p640