London Gardens Online
London Gardens Online


Brickfield Gardens Tower Hamlets


The site was a former brickfield that was compulsorily purchased in 1899, cleared and laid out as public gardens by the LCC. It opened as Brickfield Gardens in 1904 with a children's playground and bandstand. It later provided recreational space for residents of the Locksley Estate, which was built from the 1950s by the LCC, when further open space was laid out to the north. Photographs of the 1960s show there was once a popular paddling pool, but this has since been re-landscaped, with play equipment, grass and flower beds. Some of the original plane trees remain in the gardens.

Basic Details

Site location:
Clemence Street, Burdett Road

E14 ( Google Map)

Type of site:
Public Gardens

1904; 1950s/60s


Listed structures:

Tower Hamlets

Site ownership:
LB Tower Hamlets

Site management:
Leisure Services, Parks and Open Spaces

Open to public?

Opening times:

Special conditions:



Public transport:
Tube: Mile End (Central; District)

The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/11/2011
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.

Further Information

Grid ref:

Size in hectares:

Green Flag:

On EH National Register :

EH grade:

Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:

Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:

Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:

Local Authority Data

The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.

On Local List:

In Conservation Area:

Conservation Area name:
Brickfield Gardens

Tree Preservation Order:

Nature Conservation Area:

Green Belt:

Metropolitan Open Land:

Special Policy Area:

Other LA designation:

Brickfield Gardens

Brickfield Gardens, play area and landscaping near site of former paddling pool, November 2011. Photo: S Williams

Click photo to enlarge.

Fuller information

The area remained undeveloped until the 1850s, consisting largely of fields that were within the Stepney parish of St Dunstan's, later coming under the parish of St Anne Limehouse. Development of the area accelerated as the West and East India Docks expanded and by the 1860s the area was largely built over for the Cotton Estate. An old brickfield was retained as an area of open space and Brickfield Gardens was later laid out by the LCC, opening in 1904 with a children's playground. The terraces around the small park suffered severe bomb damage in WWII and the area was later cleared by the LCC for a new housing estate, which contained landscaped spaces and included an extension of the public open space to the north. The estate was subsequently expanded in the 1970s and 1980s. Photographs of the 1960s show there was once a popular paddling pool, but this has since gone and the area recently re-landscaped with play equipment, seats, grass and rose beds. Some of the original plane trees remain in the gardens.

The adjacent open space is grass with a few mature trees, now contiguous with Mile End Park (q.v.). A children’s playground that was located nearby on a separate site with a One O'clock Club was laid out as a new play area in c.2009.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry, Charles O'Brien, Nikolaus Pevsner, 'The Buildings of England, London 5: East', Yale University Press, 2005; LB Tower Hamlets, 'Brickfield Gardens Conservation Area Character Appraisal and Management Guidelines', 2009

Page Top

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.